Extreme Abstraction

Book 2: Extreme Abstraction Revisited. The Albright-Knox Art Gallery in Buffalo has had some spectacular abstract art exhibitions. In 2005 Extreme 2012_extreme_abstraction_revisitedAbstraction took place and resulted in the book Extreme Abstraction Revisited. Extreme Abstraction showed the works of some 173 painters and sculptors from around the world and exhibited a very wide range of practice. Artists included Jean Arp, Agnes Martin, Linda Benglis, and many contemporary artists. I loved the plastic bag installation by Jim Lambie. The book concentrates on the more contemporary works. This is a colourful picture book showing installation views. Makes me really sorry I missed this show.

 

Author: Mary Donlan

I am a visual artist living and painting in St. Thomas, ON, Canada. This blog will be about abstract art - exhibitions I've visited, books I've read, and about my adventures with social media.

Leave a Reply

