The Painting Factory: abstraction after Warhol

Book 4. The Painting Factory. I’m a big fan of Andy Warhol. I love books by and about Warhol, movies about Warhol and I love his art. I was very intrigued by The Painting Factory, the catalogue for a contemporary abstract painting exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Anpainting-factorygeles, in 2012. The starting point is Warhol’s abstract paintings – The Shadows, the Rorschachs, etc. Warhol’s aesthetic and screen printing influenced these 21st century abstract painters. The works are conceptual, minimal, multi-layered, mainly monochromatic; process and mechanical reproduction results in a ‘minimalist, factory-like aesthetic’. Artists include Mark Bradford, Christopher Wool, Glenn Lignon, Tauba Auerbach and Rudolf Stingel. Excellent interviews and essays, terrific reproductions.

 

Author: Mary Donlan

I am a visual artist living and painting in St. Thomas, ON, Canada. This blog will be about abstract art - exhibitions I've visited, books I've read, and about my adventures with social media.

Leave a Reply

